Looking for the sun

A week before this came typhoon Gener.

Now came this Southwest monsoon and it’s been raining nonstop for four days.

If you’re a reader from the Philippines, you know what I’m talking about. Every area is flooded (lucky for those whose houses that haven’t been invaded by the flood) and classes were suspended for all year levels.

It’s as if it’s Ondoy all over again.  But this time, creating even more havoc and peril.

As much as I want to help my brothers and sisters (but I’m mostly chickened out by the heavy rain and the fear of being stranded all alone) what can I do? I am blessed enough to have a home with good electricity, food and supplies that can satisfy my needs. And as I type this right now, I’m just sitting in front of my laptop, hoping for the rain to subside.Praying silently and using the power of technology to reach out to those who are in need.

The good side of this is that here in my country, every citizen is a hero. I cannot stress that enough. I’ve been watching the news, a lot of rescue operations and Relief programs are conducted. I believe, we can still rise despite the situation we are having.  Tiwala lang sa Diyos. We are more capable than we will ever know, and I believe that we are brave. We will overcome this and the sun will rise up, smiling to us.

#bangonPilipinas #PrayForThePhilippines

If you have twitter, it’s best to check these hashtags:

#FloodPH, #Phalerts, #ReliefPH, #RescuePH

Contact the Philippine Red Cross if you need to be rescued. 

Call 143 and 527-0000 and put a white blanket outside your house so that they’ll know where you are.

You can also donate via text!
To donate via SMS, text RED<space>AMOUNT to 2899 for Globe or 4143 for Smart subscribers. To donate via G-Cash, text DONATE<space>AMOUNT<space>4-digit M-PIN<space>REDCROSS to 2882.
Leave a Reply

